Department of Chemistry

Recent News







The Department of Chemistry was established in 1991 with B.Sc. Programme. The Department began with one lecturer as faculty member, to conduct classes for the undergraduate Programme of the Institute. Meanwhile there is addition of four faculty members along with Principal, Dr. Shaikh Kabeer Ahmed. Now department has three Professors and one Associate Professor and one Assistant Professor. In 2002 Science faculty becomes 100% granted. College has obtained UGC, 2(f) & 12 (b) status and received various grants for departments. After receiving grants from UGC in 2011 the Department has grown in multiple dimensions and today it has six faculty members, one laboratory assistant and one laboratory attendant. The Department is home to around 300 students at any given time. The Department also offers career oriented courses like Instrumentation, from 2019 as a certificate course. Where as in 2007 P.G. in Organic Chemistry has started its intake is 30 students. Research Centre is started from 2019 at present 16 students are working for Ph.D.

The Department is flourished with well qualified and versatile faculty members, out of total 5 faculty members, all are Doctorate. The Department is very proud that our faculty members not only practice teaching Chemistry but are actively involved in research also. Department has published 450 Research Papers in reputed National and International Journals. 12 Books and 04 Indian patents are published.

All faculty members are research guides. 27 students have completed Ph.D. under abele guidance of Principal, Dr. Shaikh Kabeer Ahmed and Prof. Sayyed Hussain Sajjansab and 14 students are working for Ph.D. The Department has successfully completed three Major Research project,

two funded by UGC, New Delhi, and DST, New Delhi. 04 Minor Research Project, funded by UGC, (WRO), Pune. 06 Minor Research project funded by Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Marathwada University, Aurangabad. The Department has also organized two National conference in 2013 and 2020 and one International seminar online mode in 2021. The students are provided a comprehensive exposure to various scientific competitions like Avishkar to inculcate scientific wisdom among them. In future department is going to start consultancy with industry and society. Department is planning to start its own placement cell. In future department will organize National and international Conferences.

Teaching Staff

Sr. Name of the Teacher Qualification Appointment Date Designation Specialization Experience View
1. Prof. Dr. Shaikh Kabeer Ahmed M.Sc., Ph.D 10-10-2006 Principal (H.O.D.) Physical Chemistry 32 Profile
2. Prof. Dr. Sayyed Hussain M.Sc.(Chem), Ph.D., B.Ed. 01-07-1999 Professor Inorganic Chemistry 24 Profile
3. Prof. Surendra N. Takale M.Sc. (Chem), Ph.D. 19-07-1999 Professor Organic Chemistry 24 Profile
4. Dr. Momin Nishat Parveen M. Sc. Ph.D. . 01-08-1995 Associate Professor Physical Chemistry 27 Profile
5. Dr. Shaikh Abdul Baseer M.Sc. (Chem) Ph.D. 10-10-2012 Assisstant-Professor Organic Chemistry 11 Profile

Courses Offered

B.Sc.: Groups a) Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics
b) Chemistry, Botany, Zoology
c) Chemistry, Physics, Electronics
d) Chemistry, Physics, Computer Science
e) Chemistry, Zoology, Microbiology
M.Sc.: Organic Chemistry


Research Laboratory/ Research Centre

  • Spectrophotometer
  • Rota evaporator
  • Electrophoresis
  • Electric Oven
  • Microwave Oven
  • Conductivity
  • PH meter
  • Colorimeter
  • Polarimeter
  • Hotplate
  • Electric Balance

  • Research Activity

    Sr. Name of the Teacher No. of Papers Published No. of Books Published Number of Patents Major Research Project Minor Research Project
    1. Prof. Dr. Shaikh Kabeer Ahmed 83  00 00 03 01
    2. Prof. Dr. Sayyed Hussain 170 10 02 01 05
    3. Prof. Surendra N. Takale 44 01 00 00 03
    4. Dr. Momin Nishat Parveen 40 01 00 00 03
    5. Dr. Shaikh Abdul Baseer 45 01 02 00 00

    Ph.D. Registered & Awarded:

    Sr. Name of the Faculty Ph.D. Awarded Registered for Ph.D.
    1. Prof. Dr. Shaikh Kabeer Ahmed 10  03
    2. Prof. Dr. Sayyed Hussain 14 04
    3. Prof. Surendra N. Takale 00 04
    4. Dr. Momin Nishat Parveen 00 04
    5. Dr. Shaikh Abdul Baseer 00 06